Moving forward and looking back

After completing my busiest year in 2016 it’s hard to believe that this is my 14th year running photography workshops.

Even after all those years I still see a different challenge in every new location and something new in the ones I revisit. I still have that hunger and desire to explore and photograph both old a new places.

I’ve had my personal life’s up and downs over the last 4 years, and as I look back I see a series of visual markers that capture the times and events that surround those both good and difficult moments.  In that briefest of seconds when the shutter is fired, it captures more than just an image.

It holds the emotional state, moods and events of a period of our lives and freezes them within the visual image. Just like a song that brings back memories and emotions from our youth, a photograph is like a time capsule that contains more than just dyes, inks and pixels.

As time passes it’s always good to take a look back, and see where we have come from and what we have been through, but more importantly is the need to drive forward, discover and create new experiences and memories. This to me is what motivates.

Photography is a vehicle that carries our memories, reflects our emotions, learning, marks our growth and records our own personal journey.

Never underestimate the power of a photograph, good or bad.

Leave a Reply

